Boulder DWI Lawyer Jennifer Watkins
Protecting Your Driving Privileges after a DWI in Colorado
Payment Plans Available After a DWI in Boulder
The Watkins Law Firm of Boulder, Colorado represents individuals who have been accused of DWI, DUI, DUID, DWAI, or DWI Per Se. When a person is arrested for drunk driving, they face numerous legal repercussions that have the potential to affect the rest of their life. A conviction will stay on your permanent criminal record, and the only way to prevent a conviction is to fight your charges, because simply pleading guilty assures that you will pay large fines, lose your driver’s license, and maybe even go to jail. In Colorado, you have only seven days after an arrest for drunk driving to preserve your right to drive. Boulder DWI lawyer Jennifer Watkins has long-term experience fighting for clients facing drunk driving charges.
- Boulder DWI attorney Jennifer Watkins has over 15 years of experience
- A free consultation will allow you to understand the penalties you are facing and find out what lines of defense are available to you in court
- The Watkins Law Firm handles Colorado DWI, DUI, DUID (driving under the influence of drugs), DWAI (driving while ability impaired), DWI Per Se, DMV Hearings, Driving Permits, and all other issues related to Colorado drunk driving charges
- Attorney Jennifer Watkins is a member of the Colorado Criminal Defense Bar, a statewide organization devoted to criminal defense representation
Call (303) 536-5806
Boulder DWI lawyer has an extensive experience defending the rights of her clients and protecting their privilege to drive in all DWI and DWI related legal matters including license suspensions, license revocations, and habitual traffic offender issues. She handles all parts of DWI and DWAI cases from beginning to end with over 15 years of experience in Colorado DWI law.
An aggressive and knowledgeable Colorado DWI attorney will be able to know all the challenges you will face in a DWI case. They will be able to exploit weaknesses in the prosecutor’s case, investigate the legality of the traffic stop, challenge evidence in court, and use many other defense options that you may not be aware of. DWI cases are inherently complex. Even if you think you want to simply plead guilty, a DWI attorney can assure that you are sentenced fairly and will ensure your rights are protect throughout. To find out more about DUI penalties and lines of defense available to you, call the Watkins Law Firm right away to schedule your free initial consultation.
Call Now for a Free Consultation
Boulder DWI lawyer Jennifer Watkins offers a free initial consultation to discuss your DWI case. Find out more about how to fight your case in court by calling to schedule your free initial consultation at (303) 536-5806 or simply fill out the consultation form found on this page.
About Colorado DWI Laws
Colorado has many impaired driving laws that you should make yourself familiar with if you are facing any kind of impaired driving charges. There are separate administrative (driver’s license suspension) and criminal penalties for DWI or DWAI convictions. A motorist whose BAC exceeds .05 but is less than .08 can be charged with driving while ability impaired (DWAI). A motorist with a BAC at .08 or higher can be charged with driving under the influence (DWI). Someone who has multiple drunk driving convictions or who has a blood alcohol level higher than 0.17 is subject to greater penalties. Under Colorado law, as in many states, just by driving a motor vehicle, a driver has already consented to a test of their blood, breath, saliva, or urine when a law enforcement officer has probable cause that the driver is DWI or DWAI.
A conviction for DWI or DWAI can include criminal penalties, which are imposed by the courts, and administrative penalties, which are imposed by the Colorado Department of Revenue (DMV). Administrative penalties can include suspension or revocation of your driver’s license (standard limits range between 9 months and 2 years) and/or points added to your record.
First offense DWAI carries a fine of $200 to $500, 2 days to 180 days in jail, and public service between 24 and 48 hours. A first offense DWI carries a fine of $600 to $1,000, 5 days to 1 year in jail, and public service of 48 to 96 hours. If you are arrested for DWAI or DWI and have a previous DWAI or DWI conviction on your record, you face fines of $600 to $1,500, up to 1 year in jail, and public service up to 120 hours. These fines do not include court costs, penalty surcharges up to $500, surcharges for crime victim compensation, fees to reinstate a driver’s license after the period of suspension or revocation has ended, and other possible fees, charges, or penalties.
You face greater penalties if you caused an accident or injury while DWI or DWAI. Convictions for third DWI or DWAI offenses within 7 years face a mandatory 5-year license revocation. This falls under the Habitual Traffic Offender (HT0) statute.