Miller County DWI Lawyer

Collins, Collins & Ray
(870) 777-8911

WARNING YOU ONLY HAVE 7 DAYS
from the date of your arrest for DWI in Arkansas to request an administrative hearing about your driver's license. If you do not, your driver's license will be automatically suspended.

DWI Defense Attorney

Protecting Your Rights after a DWI in Arkansas

Protecting Your Driving Privileges after a DWI in Miller County

A DWI arrest in Arkansas can negatively impact your personal and career life. There are many legal and financial consequences related to drunk driving in Arkansas. You could possibly lose your job, be imprisoned, and have your driver’s license suspended. Hire John Collins, a Miller County DWI lawyer, to help you fight for your rights.

Collins, Collins & Ray
Collins, Collins & Ray
John C Collins
912 W. 4th St.
Little Rock, AR 72201

Call (870) 777-8911

  • Former police officer and prosecutor
  • Voted Best of the Best Attorneys in Hempstead County in 2010
  • Received the Client Distinction Award Martindale-Hubbell 2013
  • Experienced investigator and law speaker
  • Active member and State Delegate of the National College for DUI Defense, Inc., Arkansas Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Inns of Court, and the American Chemical Society

It is important to seek advice from a legal professional, but you should also note that not all attorneys practice criminal defense and not all are experienced with Arkansas DWI defense.

Miller County DWI lawyer John Collins is a former cop and former prosecutor who now defends those accused of alcohol related traffic offenses in Central and Southwest Arkansas. He has been involved with the arrest, prosecution, defense and judgment of a criminal act. This experience gives him a unique perspective of a case and provides you with an advantage in the courtroom.

Texarkana DWI attorney John Collins strives to provide the best possible drunk driving defense. His goal is to protect your rights and try to keep your arrest record clean. If you are ready to fight the charges filed against you, contact the Collins Law Firm.

Free Initial Consultation

To learn more about the law firm and what it can do for you, contact Texarkana DWI attorney John Collins by filling out the on-line request form or calling (870) 777-8911. The initial meeting is free and there is no further obligation, so call now and get the help you need.

Penalties for DWI in Arkansas

A first offense for drunk driving in Miller County can lead to:

  • 24 hours to 1 year in jail
  • Between $150 – $1,000 fine
  • $300 Court Costs
  • Mandatory alcohol education class
  • Loss of driver’s license for 180 days
  • Required installation of an ignition interlock device

The degree of the penalties increases with any additional Arkansas DWI within a five-year period. A fourth arrest will lead to charges being filed as a felony.

In addition to the social embarrassment, you will be facing significantly higher automobile insurance premiums, possible loss of job or difficulties finding future employment, loss of professional license and a criminal arrest record.

Miller County DWI lawyer John Collins will put his unique experiences to work for you, and seek to have the charges reduced or dismissed. For more information, contact the Collins Law Firm now.

Loss of Driver’s License for DWI in Arkansas

Arkansas DWI laws are frequently modified making it important to get legal advice from a law firm that focuses on drunk driving defense. The state legislature recently changed the penalties for suspension of driver’s license. Currently, every motorist charged with driving while intoxicated in Miller County could lose their driving privileges for 180 days. Your blood alcohol content at the time of arrest no longer is a factor in the amount of time your license is suspended.

The license suspension is separate from the criminal charges filed against you. It is actually a civil case filed by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Your options during the suspension process depend on a number of factors, including whether you refused to submit to a breath test or your DWI involved impairment from drugs. There may be an opportunity to secure a limited driving permit for travel between home and work, court and school, or during medical emergencies. You may also be able to qualify for driving after the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. After providing a breath sample, the device will analyze it for presence of alcohol before allowing the driver to start the vehicle. Besides everyone knowing that you have been charged with DWI in Arkansas, you will be required to pay an initial set-up cost and a monthly maintenance fee.

Each situation is different, and having legal representation when fighting for your license can make a difference. To see if your driving privileges can be saved, contact Texarkana DWI lawyer John Collins for immediate help.

DWI versus DUI

DWI, or driving while intoxicated in Arkansas, is defined as, 1) being intoxicated or impaired while operating or being in physical control of a motorized vehicle, or 2) operating or being in physical control of a motorized vehicle with a blood alcohol content at or above .08%. Basically this means that you can be charged with DWI based on the result of a BAC test or on the officer’s assumption that you are impaired. The state can pursue charges based on one or both of these statutes.

A DUI is filed against anyone under the age of 21 who is found to be operating or in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of an alcohol or an intoxicant, or have the presence of alcohol or intoxicants in their system. There is a zero tolerance for an underage person to be driving under the influence.

The penalties for first offense DUI can include:

  • Loss of driver’s license for 90 days
  • $100-$500 fine
  • Required attendance in an alcohol education program

Like an Arkansas DWI, the penalties for DUI increase with each additional offense, and the court can look back five years for previous arrests. Under state law, a prior DWI arrest can be used to enhance a DUI, however a past DUI cannot be used to increase the penalties for a DWI.

About the Collins Law Firm, Miller County DWI Lawyer

The law firm of Texarkana DWI lawyer John Collins provides legal services for those accused of alcohol and drug related offenses. The practice extends a combination of qualified legal assistance and personal service to its clients during difficult times. The law firm has a proven record of success and want the opportunity to show you how they can help you.

Attorney John Collins is a former police officer who served as a field training officer, patrolman, investigator and instructor of an alcohol education program. He is a former Deputy Prosecuting attorney and has sat as a Special Judge in several Arkansas District Courts.

Miller County DWI Criminal Defense lawyer John Collins has conducted several continuing legal education courses on the subject of Arkansas DWI offenses and has been a guest speaker for law enforcement training sessions. He received an undergraduate degree from Texas A&M University – Texarkana, and a law degree from the William H. Bowen School of Law in Little Rock. Mr. Collins is a member of the National College for DUI Defense.

Call Now for Help With Your Arkansas DWI

Time is very important for the successful defense of a drunk driving offense and for keeping your driver’s license. For a free review of your arrest and legal situation, contact Texarkana DWI attorney John Collins by calling (870) 777-8911 or completing the form. All information will be kept confidential and the first meeting is free.

Client Reviews

Reviews by Actual Former DWI Clients
5 Star Review
Rating: 10 out of 10
Based on 5 reviews

"Very knowledgeable of DUI laws,kept me informed,worked with me to keep from taking time off from my job,well worth the money."- Kevin

"I would rank John Collins as one of the top 5 DWI lawyers in Arkansas--probably in the top 3. He's fantastic. Very knowledgeable. He also has previous experience as a prosecutor and training law enforcement officers, which sometimes can give him special insight into more difficult cases. Plus, he's just a good guy and an honorable lawyer. I highly recommend him!"- Debra Reece, Criminal Defense Attorney in Russellville, AR

"I would say he is the expert in the field of DUI/DWI & if he doesn't win your case for you it probably wasn't winnable to begin with. I would recommend his services to anyone. Very professional. Extremely knowledgeable."- DUI Client

"Going through the legal process is a rather scary and humbling experience and having John next to me was very comforting. He was confident, well prepared, well spoken and I knew his true intentions were to try and help me land on my feet after the dust had settled. I highly recommend his office."- DUI Client

"Mr Collins is responsive, empathetic, honest, knowledgeable, determined and effective. He is well known and has good working relationship with policeman, prosecutors and judges. I was impressed with how long he worked to get the best results, not accepting anything less than the very best he could negotiate."- DUI Client

DWI Attorneys
Collins, Collins & Ray
912 W. 4th St.
Little Rock, AR 72201

Call (870) 777-8911

www.dwitrouble.com

Defending DWI cases throughout Miller County and Texarkana

Visa Card MasterCard Discover Card


DWI Attorneys and Lawyers