Maryland DWI Attorneys

DWI Lawyers in Maryland
(800) 852-8005

DWI Stop


from the date of your arrest for DWI in Maryland to request an administrative hearing about your driver's license. If you do not, your driver's license will be automatically suspended. For immediate help contact a Maryland DWI Attorney.

Protecting Your Driving Privileges after a DWI in Maryland

Knowledge, Experience, and Results in a Fighting DWI in Maryland


Select the county where your DWI in Maryland occurred


Maryland DWI Laws

What is the Difference Between DUI and DWI in Maryland?

Maryland State Seal ReverseMaryland has two drunk driving laws: DUI and DWI. Under Maryland law, drunk driving charges are determined the driver’s blood alcohol level (BAC) at the time of testing. Drivers who have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .07% or higher can be charged with driving while impaired (DWI), while drivers who have a BAC of .08% or higher can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI).

For a first offense DWI in Maryland, penalties may include:

  • A fine (up to $500)
  • 8 points on Maryland driver’s license record
  • Suspension of driver’s license
  • Jail time (up to 60 days)

For a first offense DUI in Maryland, penalties may include:

  • A fine (up to $1000)
  • 12 points on Maryland driver’s license record
  • Suspension of driver’s license
  • Jail time (up to one year)

Maryland is a member of the Interstate Driver License Compact (DLC). If you are convicted of DUI or DWI in Maryland, the State will share that information with all 45 participating states in the Compact.

Additional Penalties for DUI or DWI in Maryland

Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device – As a condition of probation, the court may require you to install the device at your expense. An ignition interlock prevents you from operating your vehicle if you have any alcohol in your system. Participation in an Ignition Interlock Program through the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may be negotiable as an alternative to longer license suspensions.

Alcohol Education or Treatment – May be required as a condition of probation. You may also be required to attend a driver improvement or an alcohol education program as a condition of reinstatement of your driving privileges.

Under 21 – Drivers under 21 can be charged with drunk driving for almost any traceable amount of alcohol in their system. With a BAC of .02% or higher, the fine can be $500.

Test Refusal – The penalty for refusing a breath, blood, or urine test can result in harsher fines and penalties. A license suspension may occur even if you are not found guilty of using alcohol and driving.

Insurance – You are at risk of much higher insurance rates, or of losing your vehicle insurance coverage completely. The insurance rates of family members or even of your employer are sometimes raised as well.

Penalties Can Be Even Greater – Penalties are even greater if you had a crash that involved serious bodily harm or death, or if the offense occurred while your were transporting someone under 18. If transporting a minor, you may face a fine of up to $4,000 in fines and a prison sentence of up to four years.

DWI Attorneys
DWI Lawyers in Maryland

Call (800) 852-8005

DWI Attorneys and Lawyers