Get help from a New York DWI Lawyer or DWI Attorney
Find a New York DWI Attorney in your area below or by calling (800) 852-8005
New York City
Law Office of Paul M. Callahan
New York DWI Lawyer
Lerner & Lerner
New York DWI Attorneys
The Law Office of Lawrence Newman
New York DWI Attorney
Law Office of Thomas Keane
New York DWI Lawyer
Law Office of Keith Murphy
New York DWI Attorney
If you have been charged with a New York DWI there are two things that you need to consider:
1. Take the charge seriously.
A conviction for a New York DWI will have long lasting consequences. A criminal record can affect your employment, your future and your personal freedom.
2. Hire an experienced New York DWI Lawyer.
Understanding the New York DWI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified New York DWI Lawyer from DWI.com who focuses on DWI defense can make a difference in the outcome of your case.
The New York DWI Defense Lawyers at DWI.com offer an initial review of your case. Your inquiry is both free and confidential.
To begin fighting your New York DWI, use the drop-down menu above to locate a New York Attorney in your county. But do it now, as time is very critical in a New York DWI case.
New York DWI Laws and DWAI Laws
New York Alcohol Related and Drug Related Violations
DWI: Driving While Intoxicated
DWAI: Driving While Ability Impaired
DWAI/Drugs: Driving While Ability Impaired by a drug that is not alcohol
If you are arrested for any of these alcohol or drug related offenses in New York then you have two (2) cases.
The revocation of your New York Drivers License. Refusing or failing to take a breath test in the state of New York will result in the automatic suspension of your driving privileges for at least six months.
The criminal action that will be taken against you for your New York DWI/DWAI/Drugs arrest. The fines range from $125-$10,000 and you could also face jail time from 1-7 years. This is why it is very important to hire a qualified New York DWI attorney to get the best results for your case.
- Surcharges are added to misdemeanors ($160) and felonies ($270).
- The New York driver license penalties for drivers under the age of 21 and for professional drivers are different.
Can you get a conditional license if your were convicted of a New York DWI or DWAI?
If you receive your first conviction for a New York DWI or DWAI and you participate in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP), you can receive a conditional license. The New York DMV determines if you are eligible for the DDP. A judge can stop your enrollment in the DDP.
A change to the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law requires drivers who are convicted of specific traffic violations to pay an assessment to the DMV. The Driver Responsibility Program applies to all drivers who operate, or operated, a motor vehicle in the State of New York, regardless of the state the motorist is licensed in. The purpose of the Driver Responsibility Program is to prevent the repeated behavior of problem drivers and to improve traffic safety.
Information About Driver Responsibility Assessments
What is a driver responsibility assessment?
In addition to any fines, fees, penalties, or surcharges that you pay for a traffic conviction, you must pay the driver responsibility assessment. The assessment is an amount that you must pay each year for three years. You pay the assessment to the DMV.
Who must pay a driver responsibility assessment?
You can have NYS driver responsibility assessments to pay if you have a driver license in NYS or a driver license from another state and you have driver incidents in NYS.
You must pay the driver responsibility assessment if any of the following incidents occur in NYS:
- you are convicted of an alcohol-related traffic violation and the violation occurred on or after November 18, 2004 (includes boats and snowmobiles); or
- you are convicted of a drug-related traffic violation and the violation occurred on or after November 18, 2004 (includes boats and snowmobiles); or
- a DMV hearing determines that you refused a chemical test and the refusal occurred on or after November 18, 2004 (includes boats and snowmobiles); or
- you receive six or more points on your NYS driver record during a period of 18 months and the violations occurred on or after November 18, 2004.
How do I know if I must pay the driver responsibility assessment?
If you must pay an assessment, the DMV will send a statement to you. The statement will display the information that you will need to pay the assessment.
What is the amount of the driver responsibility assessment?
The amount of a driver responsibility assessment depends on the type of violation and the total of your driver violation points.
If you are convicted of a traffic violation that is alcohol-related or drug-related, or if you refuse a chemical test, the annual assessment is $250. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $750.
If you receive six points on your driver record during a period of 18 months, the annual assessment is $100. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $300. If you receive more than six points on your driver record during a period of 18 months, the annual assessment is $25 for each point more than the original six points. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $75 for each point more than the original six points.
Call (800) 852-8005